Skip Navigation LinksGoverning-Body


Governance at Campsmount

Our governing body is made up of members from the local community, including parents, representatives from partnership groups/organisations, and staff. Unlike some other Academies, we do not have a sponsor and remain entirely independent. The governing body are responsible for overseeing the educational direction of the school to ensure all our students achieve as well as they can.

Governors normally meet twice per term in addition to termly committee meetings. All governors are expected to make a formal visit to the school each year to monitor the impact of their decisions and the progress the Principal is making towards securing school improvement.

As we are an Academy all our governors are also Trustees, because the Academy Trust is a charity, and they are Directors because the Academy Trust is a company. The Academy Trust is established to take responsibility for the ownership of the school and its site, the members of the Trust act in the same capacity as shareholders, to ensure the Trust continues to work towards its objectives of providing a school and associated facilities for educational purposes.  Some representatives from the governing body are also members, including the Chair of Governors.

Copies of the minutes of meetings of the governing body are available on request. Please contact the school.

Details of governors attendance at meetings during the year are included in the Trustees Annual Report and Finance Statement, which is published each year and included under the Financial Information section of this website.

From time to time we have vacancies for parent and community governors. If you would like to know more about being a governor or would like to be considered as a governor when the next vacancy arises please contact the school to let us know.

Below is a list of our governors:

Governor​StatusArea of Responsibility
Mr D. McEwan​Community - Chair of Governors​Mathematics and Health & Safety
​Rev. Canon M. Wigglesworth​Partnership - Vice Chair of GovernorsScience
​Mrs B. Lynds​Parent
(also Chair of Edenthorpe Hall Primary school)
Sixth Form and Safeguarding/Child Protection
​Mrs B. Gill​Parent​English
Mrs H. Brookes​Parent​English and Safeguarding/Child Protection
​Mr C. Knight​Parent​Science
​Mrs S. Thompson​Parent​Performance
​Mrs M. Campbell​Parent​Sixth Form
​Mr A. DaleStaff​Principal and Performance
​Mr G. HallCommunity​Technology/Art
Mrs T. Millard​Partnership​PP/LAC
​Mr M. Drake​LA​Mathematics
​Mr K. Unsworth​Staff​Technology/Art
​Mrs C. Allen​Staff​IT/Business
​Mrs J. Parkinson​Staff​EBacc
Representative from Schools Co-operative SocietySchools Co-operative Society


Trust Members​Status
Mr D. McEwan​Community / Chair of Governors
​Mr K. Unsworth​Staff
Rev. R WaltonMember
​Mr M. Lynds​Member
​Mr A. Maree​Member